Jack Vinson has published a review of John Rickett’s book “Reaching The Goal: How Managers Improve a Service Business Using Goldratt’s Theory of Constraints“.

In reading the review I think I will order a copy of John’s book. As my business is a service business it is certainly on-topic for me.

That being said I still have a significant reservation with much of what is recommended for improving organizations.

My reservation is that we are too focused on canned solutions: “Just do exactly this and you’ll get great results.”

I think we have to focus more on helping the many people who make up our organizations to learn to be more effective at recognizing and resolving the many issues that will come up in implementing any significant change.

In past articles I have written about the Towers Perrin study that suggests that 4 out of 5 employees is “disengaged” from their work. I think we should be focused on building organizations where most employees are fully engaged in their work. Teaching people to recognize and resolve the many conflicts they face on a daily basis is a necessary first step.

