I heard the sound of laughing last night as I passed down the hallway on my way to refill my cup of tea.   I found the rest of the family huddled around the computer in my daughter’s room. Not being one to want to miss good times with the family, I decided to check it out.

Everyone was having a great time reading and commenting on the results of some personality-type tests they had taken. One person would read a few paragraphs and then everyone would chime in with examples (and the occasional denial!)  I have taken these tests in the past, and I think there is some validity to them.  Are these tests really valid?  Beats me.

One of the people I hired into my business years ago was Toni, a professional therapist. I would like to say that this was one of my better ideas, but the credit really goes to my wife, Stacey, and our good friend Wendy, who passed away in 2005.

Let me say this right up front: If you’re a high-tech business, or perhaps any significant business, seriously consider hiring a therapist into your HR department.  Business today is challenging.  You need to be very effective at solving problems in order to succeed.  If everyone in your business is upset with each other, unable and/or unwilling to communicate, and manifesting other forms of dysfunctional behavior, you simply can’t be effective at problem solving.  Unless your competition is similarly broken, you’re at real risk of having them put you out of business.

I knew from Toni’s help that my Keirsey Temperament classification was “Rational / Architect,” which apparently maps to “INTP” in the Meyers-Briggs domain. As my daughter read the description of the the INTP type out loud, I was surprised at how well it captured what I’m like on a day-to-day basis.

So here is one my key take-aways for myself: I’m often too theoretical. I don’t take often take the time to give practical examples of what I’m talking about. I’m resolved to push myself in that direction, to try to give more practical examples of my abstract theories.

It’s either that, or go nuts. I’m only just now closing in on fifty years old, so I (hope I) have a lot of life left in me. I think I’d rather not go nuts, at least, not right now.

